My Tech Journey

my Tech Journey

Three years ago I heard these words:

you are the CSS to my HTML.

Although I didn't understand what these words meant, I figured it to be something nice. Now as a front end developer, I understand. I write these with a smile on my face, I'm happy to have joined the tech community.

Last year March, During the lockdown I decided to venture into the coding world using FreeCodeCamp. Although I didn't know the Lockdown was going to take that long, I just didn't want to be idle and needed to get something done. Starting from hello world to the use of self-closing tags like br, meta, input and img with its attributes src and alt in HTML.

At a point it got quite challenging, I had to battle unstable electricity, network issues, getting data and the likes, I also often got confused with Nesting (putting an element in another element), variables, the use of ids inside opening tags, Debugging (really dealt with me) and majorly indenting.

The tasks environment on freeCodeCamp is not only awesome but explanatory and easy to understand. I recommend it for anyone interested in learning programming as a beginner. FreeCodeCamp It provided opportunities to interact with other students, teachers and even professionals when I got stuck on particular levels. I was finally able to complete my 100 hours of Responsive web design and got my first certificate on April 26, 2020. See codepenio works. Right now I'm working towards getting my certificate on JavaScript Algorithm and data structure.

As a newbie, I googled things I didn't understand a lot. The phrase "how to" was my go-to any day anytime, so don't feel too bad if you don't have a mentor at this stage, although getting one would be awesome to put you through and get advice on tasks you get stuck on. I joined She Code Africa for these reasons. This is a non-profit organization for women to learn, interact and improve oneself in technology across Africa. SheCodeAfrica where there are programs available, Presently I'm on the level two of the levelled membership there hopefully to be picked for the Bootcamp program running in conjunction with Deimos.

I joined other classes online, got more certificates on Linkedin learning. See certificates on Linkedin, watched a lot of tutorials, read blogs and posts to improve me. The journey is not finished, I still have a long way to go spending hours learning.